Allied Health Resources

Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this manual delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care—pre-test, intra-test, and post-test.

Everything you need to know about caring for patients—in one portable "must have" handbook! Clear, but comprehensive discussions of pathophysiology, with rationales in the medications and laboratory sections, explain the scientific basis for the nursing care.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.

Taber's is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. It places the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at the reader's fingertips.

Emergency medical service providers serve as the primary immediate response to emergencies of all kinds, including natural disasters and acts of terrorism in the United States, with states serving as the regulatory agencies responsible for training, scope of practice, and continuing education for potential and working EMS providers. Written with the context of COVID-19 implications in mind, this is first EMT text of its kind produced after the onset of the pandemic, with considerations and citations from national and international emergency medicine journals to incorporate guidelines and best-practices in light of shifting conditions and expectations.

Driven by changes to clinical practice, new evidence-based research, and shifts in global economics and politics, the field of paramedic science is rapidly evolving. This new edition of Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice offers students and recently qualified practitioners an accessible and comprehensive introduction to paramedic science and pre-hospital care, providing expert and up-to-date guidance on the essential theories and real-world practice of this dynamic area of emergency medicine.

Fully revised to meet current guidelines, this title offers a complete and practical understanding of pharmacology in the prehospital setting. The Second Edition provides a unique problem-based approach to ensure that you, as a prehospital provider, are prepared to effectively administer the drugs your patients need. Clinical scenarios present case information just as you will learn it in the classroom and encounter it in the field. By placing each drug in its relevant context, this text teaches you to identify the proper drug for a specific patient in a specific situation.

This revised and expanded edition of the Cultural and Religious Sensitivity Pocket Guide includes new content that focuses on the importance of awareness of not only a patient’s cultural background but also his or her religious beliefs to provide patient-centered health care. The Pocket Guide continues to offer health care professionals the information they need to successfully communicate with their patients, while also respecting their specific cultural and religious needs and expectations related to health care.

Delivers a comprehensive toolbox for understanding race and racism at structural, institutional, and individual levels This nursing handbook introduces and defines key terms about race and racism for nurses, nursing students, and nurse educators. It addresses how race and racism act as structural and core social determinants of health and propel health inequities. It moves beyond a focus on multicultural approaches for understanding inequity toward a recognition of the broader impact that both systemic and structural racism have had on inequality in health and life opportunities.

Fills a crucial need in helping nurses to provide safe, culturally-competent care to LGBTQ+ patients This pivotal resource--the first written specifically for nurses--focuses on the unique health needs and inequities affecting LGBTQ+ patients and discusses how to provide them with safe, respectful, and holistic care. Written in an easy-access bulleted format with concise paragraphs, this book sets the stage by examining the background and history of the LGBTQ+ population and focusing on the health disparities that set them apart. It addresses the nursing implications and care of LGBTQ+ patients in all practice settings, highlighting transgender medical, surgical, and mental health. To help nurses create inclusive environments, chapters cover best practices and strategies for appropriate communication and define key terms nurses should know when obtaining patient history, performing an assessment, and delivering overall care.

To create and sustain diversity in medical education, biomedical research, and the physician workforce, medical schools must build on their critical admissions work and transform their learning environments to maximize the benefits of diversity and inclusion for teaching, learning, and optimal patient care. Roadmap to Diversity and Educational Excellence is designed to help medical schools establish and implement institution-specific, diversity-related policies that will advance their core educational goals with minimal legal risk. This second edition includes new guidance associated with the June 2013 decision by the U.S. Supreme Court in Fisher v. University of Texas. More than just a legal update, this publication provides additional insights into relevant facets of law, policy, and research, to reflect the current challenges that medical schools face.

In the newly revised Second Edition of Calculation Skills for Nurses, author Claire Boyd delivers a practical and effective treatment of crucial nursing calculation abilities designed to instil confidence and competence in healthcare professionals. Written for anyone working in the healthcare setting who requires mathematical assistance, the book is designed to teach the skills required by the Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards, Proficiency for Nursing Associates, Pre-registration Nursing Associate Programme, The Code—Professional Standards for Practice and Behaviour For Nurses, Midwives, and Nursing Associates, and the NMC Essential Skills Clusters.

Overcome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it.

Requiring no prior knowledge of mathematics or health care, MATH FOR HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS, 2E is a comprehensive, foundational resource that is equally effective in the classroom or for self-study. It emphasizes the fundamentals of mathematics while giving you plenty of experience applying that to real-world practice. Actual health professionals also share how they use math in their careers. Exercises using drug dosages, intake and output, weights and measures, temperatures, IV drip rates, , illustrations of syringes, prescriptions, medication labels, IV bags, and I and O charts give you hands-on practice with real-life health care skills requiring mathematics. A student workbook and MindTap digital learning solution are also available. The Second Edition includes all-new chapters devoted to pre-algebra and geometry as well as statistics. It also offers new coverage of body mass index, 24-hour time, calculating the volume of containers of various shapes, and more.

This FY 2020 update of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) is being published by the United States Government in recognition of its responsibility to promulgate this classification throughout the United States for morbidity coding.

ICD-10-PCS is the new procedure coding system that was developed as a replacement for ICD-9-CM, Volume 3. The 2019 ICD-10 Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-PCS) files contain information on the ICD-10-PCS updates for FY 2020.

Ideal for self-paced study, classroom use, or distance learning. This edition features a more concise presentation, new content, exercises in the book and online, and a robust array of online teaching and learning resources.

The process of triage occurs in a variety of settings around the world, from the battlefield to the private medical office. Each venue may have different goals and practices are dependent upon the location of the incident or place of service, patient care needs and available medical resources., A triage process is essential to assist the care provider in prioritizing the needs of those seeking care, working to minimize or prevent a delay in care to the patient with the highest acuity risk. Triage methods and sources have evolved over many decades, and now address the needs of different practice settings.

The goal of this book is for a seasoned nurse practitioner to share practical guidance which supports the reader to be better prepared in the provision of high-quality primary care to their clients and families.

This book was written as a resource for all of the practicing CNLs working hard to impact outcomes yet have little in the way of resources to assist them as they begin and continue their careers.

This book is designed for a new graduate or recent graduate transitioning into the critical care environment. Designed as a quick reference of the most common admitting diagnoses in critical care including causes, signs and symptoms and interventions, this text will be used every day.

This resource delivers current, evidence-based information in all the key areas of perioperative nursing with updated standards and techniques. Written in bulleted format with brief paragraphs, this guide is organized to provide quick access to essential information on basic preparation, safety guidelines, and day-to-day practice in the OR. Beginning with surgery preparation, chapters then address the practice environment and surgical supplies, followed by basic surgical procedures.

Designed for recently graduated RNs and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the best resource to provide essential information to nurses working on the med–surg unit. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today.

Learning about labor and birth requires effort. Reading books such as this one is one way to learn evidence-based concepts. In addition, learning about childbearing care practices that will keep patients safe and optimize outcomes can also occur from decades of experience prior to confirmation by research. Nurses with decades of experience know, for example, that the chain of command involves communication that can take many forms. For example, notifying a nursing leader of your patient's vital sign abnormalities is a form of the chain of command.

This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced.
Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes.

The fifth edition of Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice has been revised to reflect the most current issues in healthcare ethics including new cases, laws, and policies. The text continues to be divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving Into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles. The text includes legal features sections in most chapters, an expanded appendix of case studies with suggestions for discussion, and ethical reflections questions in each chapter. This new edition will also include an appendix focused on simulation suggestions, heavier coverage of ethics and terrorism, and stronger coverage of immigration and the importance of remaining unbiased a healthcare provider.

In this updated third edition of the successful and definitive nursing textbook, Nursing Practice is designed to support the student throughout the entire nursing degree. Structured around the Nursing and Midwifery Council Code of Conduct and the latest Standards for Education, it explores a range of clinical and professional issues that the student will need to know in one complete and accessible volume.

The COVID-19 pandemic has claimed its stake as the deadliest worldwide infectious disease outbreak in over 100 years. But what exactly is this new highly contagious virus? Where did it come from and how has it spread so quickly? 100 Questions & Answers About Coronaviruses answers these questions and more in an easy-to-read format. This timely book organizes and distills cutting-edge information and data on COVID-19 in a single, convenient resource.

Uniquely focused on the usage of respiratory equipment in practical, clinical settings, the Second Edition guides learners through not only WHEN and WHY to use equipment but HOW it is important. Through a combination of theory and operation, Equipment for Respiratory Care, Second Edition illustrates how to effectively and safely match the therapeutic modality to a patient's needs, making this text an essential resource for the Respiratory Care practitioner.

More than an introductory text, this comprehensive resource will be referenced and utilized by students throughout their educational and professional careers. Respiratory Care: Principles and Practice, Fourth Edition has been thoroughly reviewed and updated with the latest content to reflect current trends and topics important to contemporary respiratory care practice. With foundations in evidence-based research, the fourth edition covers patient assessment, respiratory therapeutics, respiratory diseases, applied sciences, and the professional aspects of respiratory care.

In the newly revised Tenth Edition of Respiratory Medicine: Lecture Notes, a team of distinguished physicians delivers a comprehensive and accessible overview of the essentials of respiratory medicine, including a review of respiratory anatomy and physiology, as well as the aetiology, epidemiology, symptoms, and management of a wide range of respiratory diseases.