Purpose
The purpose of the College Archives is to identify, collect, and preserve institutional records of Rockingham Community College, which have enduring administrative, fiscal, legal, or historical value and to make these records accessible to Rockingham Community College administrators, faculty, staff, students, and other interested persons. The College Archives is housed in Room 203 of the Gerald B. James Library.
Hours
Materials in the College Archives are available by appointment during the James Library's operating hours.
Collection Development Guidelines
The College Archives collects records that are created or received by Rockingham Community College during the conduct of the institution's business, as well as materials that provide contextual information about the history of Rockingham Community College.
Materials appropriate for the archives include, but are not limited to:
- Reports and self-studies
- Campus publications
- Student publications
- Minutes
- Photographs and recordings of RCC students, faculty, staff, events and facilities
- Oral history interviews and transcripts
- Newspaper and magazine clippings related to RCC
- Memorabilia (as space permits)
The College Archives does not acquire records that do not document the administrative and/or historical functions of the college. These might include:
- Handbooks or manuals for equipment
- Non-RCC publications
- Research materials related to an individual faculty member's work
Due to federal regulations, we do not accept student records (including student assignments, evaluations, etc.).
